What is Metta and how do I do it?

This post is written by my friend, Deb Sheahan, a Buddhist meditation practitioner. What is Metta Meditation “Metta” comes to us from an ancient Indian language called Pali, and it translates as lovingkindness or friendliness.  Normally, when we think about meditation we imagine sitting in silence and focusing on something pretty neutral like the breath, physical

Please Stop Feeling So Guilty

If you and I were to sit down over a cup of coffee tomorrow, and I asked you, “what do you really want out of life?” What would you say? Would you keep your wishes realistic and practical, or start dreaming of things that seem impossible? During my Vision Board Workshop at Lost Acres Vineyard

Chakra Series Week #4: Healing the Heart

Do you remember your first heartbreak? I’ll never forget the first time I felt really heartbroken. I was 18 years old and the guy dumped me for some sorority girl. I thought I was going to die. My heart felt heavy, like it’d been replaced by a huge cement block in my chest. It felt

Chakra Series Week #3: Solar Plexus

It’s ironic that I neglected to post the third chakra blog post last week because I was busy being overwhelmed and couldn’t muster the motivation to get it done and out the door. You might be thinking: Ok, but why is that ironic? Because the third chakra, Manipura Chakra, is all about the fire in your

Chakra Series Week #1: Root Chakra

As I mentioned last week, I’m starting a fun series where I share some in-depth explanations of the chakra system and each of the seven chakras, and today kicks off Week One! Muladhara Chakra or Root Chakra Color: Red Location: Base of the spine The Root Chakra represents the Earth element, and it’s the foundation of the

These Two Yoga Poses Will Make You Feel Invincible

Last week I shared the importance of the word behind the phrase “I AM.” Now, I want to share with you two yoga poses that have the power to cement that phrase into the brain and make you feel bulletproof. First, the Five Point Star: Second, the Moon Goddess pose: Bring yourself into Five Point Star