Chakra Series Week #1: Root Chakra

As I mentioned last week, I’m starting a fun series where I share some in-depth explanations of the chakra system and each of the seven chakras, and today kicks off Week One!

Muladhara Chakra or Root Chakra


LocationBase of the spine

The Root Chakra represents the Earth element, and it’s the foundation of the chakra system. This area represents stability, survival, grounding, trust, root support, and deals with issues around security and Your Right to Exist.

If you are lacking support, stability, etc, you may be unbalanced in this chakra. For those unbalanced in this area, you may be experiencing the following:

Emotional Imbalances:

  • possessive
  • fearful
  • insecure
  • anxious

Physical Imbalances:

  • depression
  • low back pain
  • anemia
  • sciatica

These activities will help you get back in balance:

  • Doing anything that will “ground” you, or bring in the Earth element.
  • Listen to this 5-minute guided meditation
  • Walk barefoot
  • Hug trees (this is a huge one, believe it or not!)
  • Work in the garden
  • Create pottery
  • Eat root vegetables or animal protein

You can also try visualizing yourself seated and growing roots from your spine down into the earth, absorbing the Earth’s energy and nutrients. If you have chronic root chakra issues, contact me! You can, and will, feel better! Click here for a complimentary assessment to see if I can help you balance these or other issues.