What the heck is a Chakra?

I get this question a lot, so I thought I would take a moment to give you some quick and concise information on the Chakra System . There is a lot of different (and conflicting) information out there about the Chakra System, so I will share with you what I know to be true and what I have discovered through my extensive training and experience.

How do I pronounce Chakra?

\Chak*ra\ as in  Chalk-rah.

What is a Chakra?

Chakra is a Sanskrit term (cakra) that is literally translated as “wheel” and is defined as “any of several points of physical or spiritual energy in the human body according to yoga philosophy.” (Merriam-Webster Dictionary)

I first heard the word chakra in a book written by Anodea Judith, Ph.D., an expert of the Chakra System. She defines chakras as organizing centers for the reception, assimilation, and transmission of life energies, forming the coordinating network of the mind/body system. She writes that they reveal a profound mapping of universal principles, doorways to various planes of consciousness and a map for spiritual growth and sacred architecture.*. It is this definition that started my journey 25 years ago, to better understand this beautiful internal energetic network.

There are seven main chakras that span from the crown of the head down to the base of the spine, and they are thought to correspond to parts of the parasympathetic nervous system. All are associated with major nerve networks within the body.

Here is a diagram of the position of the various chakras:

Yoga Lotus Position and Chakra and light-transparency blending effects and gradient mesh-EPS 10.

Within my scope of expertise, these chakras are associated with different forms of energy and emotions as well as physical qualities and conditions. There is so much information to be gleaned that an entire book could be written, (and probably has) about each different chakra.

Let me give you a quick example of what I mean:

The lowest energy center along the spine is named Muladhara, [translated as root support], or Root Chakra. It corresponds to the Earth element and all things earthly, grounding, and stabilizing. The feet and legs are governed by this chakra as is the sciatic nerve, the largest peripheral nerve in the body which functions as the root of the nervous system. When energy is out of balance in this area, one might feel emotionally unsafe, fearful, or even resistant and deeply sad. Physical imbalances in this area might manifest as bone density issues, low back pain, foot or knee pain, depression, and poor circulation.

Tools to heal a Root Chakra imbalance might include nature walks, warm epsom baths, weight training, sweating, chin mudra, sun salutations, or even oleation of the skin.

A guided meditation to help balance this area can be listened to here

I could go on and on about the wonders of Muladhara chakra…and that would just get us started in navigating the Chakra System!

For a more in-depth understanding of Chakras and how to understand your journey of balance through this energetic system, join my email list or attend one of my workshops.

I can promise you that by learning more about your Chakra System, you will enhance your physical and emotional health, as well as accelerate your spiritual growth.

*Wheels of Life by Anodea Judith Ph.D.